I’ve gotten the foreground of “Freedom Tower” pretty much done.  I may go back and look at it with a fresh, but I think that’s it.

While I was doing this, it occurred to me that visual arts are a lot like music.  You’ve got compositions, rhythms, and harmonies.  I tried, here, to get a lively harmony and rhythm going.

As for healing art, maybe this piece is for me.  I was not directly affected by 9/11, except for being a New Yorker.  Some people lost loved ones and friends, some people’s health was horribly affected by the smoke at Ground Zero, but all of us in New York felt something.  In the morning, I’d wake up thinking I had a nightmare, only to realize  that the nightmare was true.

So, it’s very hopeful and healing to see the Freedom Tower rising on the horizon.

 

freedomtowerwip2

