I’ve put aside Scraggly Weed for a while to be revisited. I got carried away, and the reference to Audrey II is accurate. It ended up looking like a demonic, carnivorous Christmas tree, and nothing scraggly about it. Maybe in the depths of winter I will revisit it, when I can be more objective about it.

Another thought about a slight incident that happened at Soundview Park. An adult man, maybe about 30, came looking for the free arts and crafts to do. What was there was aimed at children…the man was disappointed.

It occurred to me, that for many populations we provide the means of creative expression…children, mental health patients, senior citizens. However, if you’re not a person who is part of the needy, you’re flat out of luck when it comes to something so fufilling as creating art. Art supplies and lessons are expensive.

I was very lucky having come from a home where art was part of day to day life. I had the materials provided to me. And since I have no children, I had no other responsibilities for my money other than my own upkeep.

So, back to the man. Don’t really know much about him, but I thought about pulling him away quietly, and giving him a drawing lesson. I was too timid to do it.

It occurs to me that being able to do art enriches everyone’s life, so if I can figure out a way to do free art lessons to people who otherwise wouldn’t be able to get them? It’s in the back of my mind, for a project in the future.

As for my own art, now that Scraggly Weed is in suspended animation, that I go back to an old idea of mine. The background:

I used to have dreams about a sort of guardian angel who is a middle-aged, black woman. I started work on a portrait of her back just before I gave up art ENTIRELY! FOREVER! FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE!….

So, I’m revisiting the idea. Rather than search for a new model, I’m going to update a portrait sample I started….that looked nothing like the subject I was drawing. It is, though, a convincing portrait of a black woman. And so, I will continue on “Black Madonna”.rosie

