Most of autumn I hate.  It’s the rain-soaked doorstep to winter.  Bare trees, cold weather, and the beginning of the most stressful time of year for many folk…the Holidays, with a capital H.  As in Hell.

But there is a little sliver in time between the end of the summer weather, and the really dark days as we approach the shortest day of the year.

October.  Beautifully colored trees, fresh ripe apples, and the accompanying cider.  Not to mention Halloween.  I really envy those kids trick or treating.  Not that I want the candy, but I would like to break loose and run all over the neighborhood in some kind of scary costume.

I’ve been putting together a calendar of my work, and noticed I didn’t have many fall pix: Just this from a while ago:

 

autumnsongfinished

Its resolution isn’t good enough for publication.

So, with next year in mind, I bring you “Last One Standing’, the sketch.

 

fallsketch

