I’m working on the drawing that I sketched earlier in the week.

Since wintertime is such a hard time for me, and many others, I’ve decided to make my work this season devoted to making peace and healing with this cold, dark time of year.

Another theme I’m working on, as a healing subject, is that of friendship and community.  I have an excellent idea for that for a springtime drawing…but let’s get through the winter first.

So, friendship and community in the winter.  I thought of the symbol of birds.  I love drawing birds, but never really come up with good, complete ideas for them.  An example of one that I did do; PigeonIMG_0148_thumb.jpg

And one from high school, so long ago….

mural

And a Christmas card:

xmasdove

 

So, now, what winter bird do I use for this sycamore composition?  I took a bit of selection and rejection:

Cardinals are beautiful, but they look like a Christmas card…and a cliched Christmas card at that….

Crows and starlings in a group would look like an Alfred Hitchcock movie….

Sparrows would just get lost in the color scheme, looking like diseased lumps of wood on the branches…

So, I come back to my little companion, the bird that cheered me up during the dark winters before I was diagnosed and treated for Seasonal Affective Disorder

Chickadees.  Cute and colorful in their own way with their little, cheerful tune….

Chick a dee dee dee.

