Another more modern association with rainbows is gay equality, diversity, etc.  Oh yes, it’s a fertile metaphor

BUT!

I see so many rainbow drawing that are just wrong, and do not capture the spirit of the promise after the storm.  First of all, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a rainbow against a blue, sunny sky, as so often is portrayed. That’s just wrong!

rainbow-1No wonder people shy away from the subject in serious art.

Not only that, rainbows seem to be pale and pastel in real life.  They’re made of light,  of course.  So, enough of the bright colors!

(Of course, one way to get around both cliches is to portray it in black and white….especially if it helps the plot line)

garland_judy_over_the_rainbow_wizard_of_oz_body

So, now my drawing is in the late evaluation stages, waiting for me to come back to it with a fresh eye. In the meantime, I hope you have gotten some perspective on the serious subjects on rainbows.

Now back to real life, and real problems.  Terrorism, homelessness, global warming and other subjects.  Even if I spout fury on the subject of rainbows, it’s a good break.

