Without working in the retail Christmas rush, I have gotten past the rush.  Now, New Year’s is on the horizon, and then that expanse of time known as winter.

Last year, I spent winter exploring the new landscape around me, a suburban, not New York City surrounding.  Nothing much has changed in this new area in the past year..so, I’m looking past the immediate impressions the landscape made on me…and looking for the subtleties.  Yes, I’m looking at the smaller picture.

For instance, my living room window faces the southeast.  I get a splendid view of the sunrise.  Of course, with sunrise as late as 7:15 am, that’s not too hard to wake up for.  Last year, I played with that sunrise and came up with this:

20160223_113507

I realize I didn’t post this in the winter last year.  I wasn’t to fond of it.  However, I realize, that I was too busy looking at the obvious…if I had just looked at a bit of a smaller view….like this?

20160223_113507

Well, this is a scratchy version of what I really see.  Sometimes, random planting and the artistry of nature makes a composition as delicately balanced as a Japanese garden.

So, as I recover from yesterday’s feast and workout…I’ll be starting work, on this little corner that almost escaped my perception.

