So, I’m fighting a bit of a summer cold, and  working on the full-sized strawberry patch picture.  Rather than lay out the whole composition before I filled in the details, this time I decided to let it flow….and fill in the details as I went along.  I thought it would be less tedious that way.  At least I thought so.

These drawing are not the first I’ve done of strawberries.  A long time ago, I did this:

 

A very realistic drawing of strawberries.  I thought I’d found the solution to the problem of making money with my art…make small drawing that I could sell inexpensively.  It was another attempt that went down in a fiery flame.

Seems no one could relate to just strawberries on a plate.  Or apples with pearls for that matter. I found there had to sell, even that size, the viewer had to have an emotional connection to the subject matter.

Finding subject matter like that is pretty much a shot in the dark.  I’ve managed to sell two, on Ebay, and how my customer found them in the thousands of drawings there, I’ll never know.

The two were these:

 

So, one customer I’m sure had to be a motorcycle enthusiast, while another was someone who ❤ New York.

I feel I am getting closer to an art product people will buy.  Too bad it’s taken a few decades to get there.

